Suryakumar Yadav to Lead India in T20I Series Against Australia; Squad Announced with Notable Inclusions and Exclusions

India's T20I Squad Unveiled for Australia Series: Suryakumar Yadav to Captain, Shreyas Iyer Vice-Captain for Last Two Matches.
India's T20I Squad Unveiled for Australia Series: Suryakumar Yadav to Captain, Shreyas Iyer Vice-Captain for Last Two Matches. Image Source: Suryakumar Yadav Facebook

In a significant announcement, BCCI has appointed Suryakumar Yadav as the captain for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Australia, set to kick off on November 23, 2023, in Visakhapatnam. Ruturaj Gaikwad will take on the role of vice-captain for the first three T20Is, with Shreyas Iyer stepping in as vice-captain for the remaining two matches.

Notable Exclusions and Surprise Inclusions

One of the noteworthy exclusions from the squad is Sanju Samson, who was expected to play a pivotal role in the series. Instead, the selectors have opted for Jitesh Sharma, earning his maiden India call-up, alongside Ishan Kishan. Avesh Khan, who impressed during the Hangzhou Asian Games, makes a comeback to the main squad. Mukesh Kumar, showcasing promise during the West Indies tour, gets another opportunity to solidify his position.

Riyan Parag, who had a stellar Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament has also failed to make the cut for the series against Australia. Parag had recently become the first ever batter in the history of SMAT to score 6 consecutive fifties. 

Axar Patel Returns, Shubman Gill Rested

Axar Patel, who missed the ODI World Cup due to injury, makes a comeback to the squad, adding depth to the team’s composition. Shubman Gill, after a decent World Cup campaign, has been given a well-deserved rest by the team management. The squad aims for a strategic balance, considering the hectic cricketing schedule and future competitions.

The T20I series against Australia comes on the heels of India’s ODI World Cup final loss, where they suffered a six-wicket defeat. With a fresh captaincy under Suryakumar Yadav and a blend of experienced players and promising newcomers, the team is eager to bounce back and set the tone for the upcoming T20 World Cup next year.

As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the clash between India and Australia, the announced squad promises an exciting mix of talent and strategy, setting the stage for an intense and closely watched T20I series.

India’s Squad for the T20 Series Against Australia: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar 

Note: Shreyas Iyer will join the squad as vice-captain for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru.

India vs Australia T20 Series 2023 Schedule: 

123rd  November1st T20IVisakhapatnam
226th  November2nd T20IThiruvananthapuram
328th  November3rd T20IGuwahati
41st December4th T20IRaipur
53rd December5th T20IBengaluru

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

Tragic Loss: Despondent Fan Ends Life After India's Defeat in World Cup Final

Tragedy Strikes in West Bengal: Heartbroken Fan Takes Own Life After India’s Defeat in the World Cup Final 

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Debutants Best Playing XI.

World Cup 2023 Breakthrough Stars: Best Debutants XI – Crafting Legends from the Newcomers