South Africa squads announced for India tour

South Africa have announced squads for their India tour. Faf du Plessis has not been included in the squad for T20I series as Quinton de Kock’s will lead the team. Faf remains in charge of the Test team.

The Proteas will play Test in Visakhapatnam (Oct. 2-6), Ranchi (Oct. 10-14) and Pune (Oct. 19-23). For the visitors, this will be their first encounter in the newly-formed ICC Test Championship.

Three uncapped players have been named in the Test squad for South Africa’s three-match tour of India in early October. This will be the first time Cricket South Africa will begin a new journey without the retired veterans Dale Steyn and Hashim Amla. Faf du Plessis led 15-man side has fast bowler Anrich Nortje, wicketkeeper/batsman Rudi Second, and spin bowling all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy. Cricket South Africa Acting Director of Cricket Corrie van Zyl said, “All three newcomers to the test side have more than earned their spurs through impressive performances in last season’s Four-Day Franchise competition.”

He further added that hopefully all the options have been included keeping all kinds of conditions in mind. Especially, the sub-continent conditions ask for good spinners and so Dane Piedt is there to support Muthusamy as well.

Van Zyl also announced a squad for the T20I series that is scheduled just before the Test series. South Africa will begin the tour with the limited-overs matches starting from Sept. 15. Faf du Plessis will miss the series and Quinton de Kock will captain the side in this format. Regarding this Zyl said, “I would like to stress that Faf du Plessis remains an important part of our plans for white-ball cricket.”

He opined that the T20I series will give the opportunity to check the team situation, batting options, and leadership as well. He insists on this as the T20 World Cup is scheduled for next year in Australia. “Which is why we have gone with an inexperienced leadership group,” Van Zyl mentioned.

The team will be led by interim team director Enoch Nkwe, as Ottis Gibson’s contract has not been renewed.

South Africa Test squad:

Faf du Plessis (C), Temba Bavuma (VC), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second

South Africa T20I squad:

Quinton de Kock (C), Rassie van der Dussen (VC), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts

Also Read: Cricket to be the part of the Olympics games says Mike Gatting

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitterand Instagram

What do you think?

Written by Shreyasi Talukdar


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Moeen Ali to take a short break from cricket after being dropped

Moeen Ali to take a short break from cricket after being dropped by England

New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka, 2019 1st Test Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Live Cricket Score

New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka, 2019 1st Test SL vs NZ Live Score: Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Live Cricket Score