Connect with us

Cricket News

No Place for Chris Gayle in Aakash Chopra’s IPL XI

No place for Chris Gayle in Aakash Chopra’s IPL XI

Aakash Chopra, former India opener chose his all-time favourite IPL XI on his YouTube channel. But there is no place for Chris Gayle in Chopra’s team.

Why not Chris Gayle?

Akash Chopra chose David Warner as his team’s opener but did not pick Chris Gayle. He gave explanation for the same saying, “My first pick is David Warner, the first overseas player as an opener. You will also think of Chris Gayle, but he is not more consistent than David Warner. He [Gayle] has been explosive but Warner is not behind anyone. So, Warner as one of the overseas players. He has been one of the most consistent batsmen ever.”

He then chose Rohit Sharma as Warner’s opening partner. “There is no debate that Rohit Sharma would be opening alongside Warner. He started as a middle-order batsman for Deccan Chargers, then he went to Mumbai Indians where he is still there. He is the most successful captain as well but doesn’t open always when he is the skipper. But if I make an all-time IPL XI, I will make him open 100 percent.”

MS Dhoni over Rohit Sharma

While choosing a captain for his team, Chopra gave an insight of choosing Dhoni over Rohit Sharma. “Although it would always be 50-50 between Rohit and Dhoni on whom you should make the captain, but when you look at the team Dhoni has got especially in the last few seasons, you will have to opt for Dhoni ahead of Rohit and he also has the experience of 11 years of captaincy and Rohit was not the captain initially. He was groomed as a captain by the Mumbai Indians,” Chopra said.

Chopra’s No. 3 and 4 positions are occupied by Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina followed by AB de Villiers at No. 5 and Dhoni at 6. In case of bowling attack, he went for Harbhajan Singh and Sunil Narine as the two spinners while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Lasith Malinga are his preferred three bowlers.

Chopra’s all-time IPL XI: 1 David Warner, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 5 Suresh Raina, 5 AB de Villiers, 6 MS Dhoni, 7 Sunil Narine, 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1st Test 21:40 PM 02 December 2020
WI 0-49(26.0)
NZ 7d-519(145.0)

Seddon Park


1st T20I 08:10 AM 04 December 2020
IND 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Manuka Oval


1st ODI 11:00 AM 04 December 2020

Six Gun Grill Newlands


23:30 PM 05 December 2020

Drummoyne Oval


2nd ODI 08:00 AM 06 December 2020

Boland Park


2nd T20I 08:10 AM 06 December 2020
IND 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Sydney Cricket Ground


No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News