Connect with us

Cricket News

New ODI Captain Of Pakistan Cricket Team Announced

New ODI Captain Of Pakistan Cricket Team Announced

Pakistan Cricket Board announced Babar Azam as the new ODI captain of the Pakistan cricket team. The head coach and national selector congratulated Azam for the same.

Azam to lead Pakistan in ODI

Babar Azam has been named the new ODI skipper of the Pakistan cricket team which means he will now take care of the entire limited-overs format of the side. Azam since last 15 months has been enjoying the captaincy role in the T20I cricket. On the other hand, Azhar Ali will continue to lead in the longer format according to the announcement by the PCB. Post the removal of Sarfaraz Ahmed, Azhar Ali was given the responsibility to lead the team in Test.

Babar Azam who is currently ranked No.3 in ICC’s ODI charts followed by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, the Indian batsmen has led Pakistan in a handful of matches in the 50-overs as well. In T20Is he has led Pakistan in five T20Is and won the last two, at home against Bangladesh.

Coach congratulates captain

The head coach and national selector Misbah ul Haq congratulated Azam on getting this new role. “I want to congratulate Azhar Ali and Babar Azam for getting captaincy extensions.” He further added that this would help the team to get clarity on the future. “This is absolutely the right decision as they also require certainty and clarity on their future roles. I am sure they will now start looking to the future and start planning so that they can build sides that can perform at the expected levels.”

In the wake of the COVID-19 as the cricket world is at an indefinite break now, Babar Azam has to wait for a while to fulfil his new responsibilities on the ground. Pakistan last played ODI in October 2019 and the board is in discussion with the England Cricket Board to discuss the possibilities of Pakistan’s upcoming tour of England comprising three Tests and an equal number of T20Is.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitterand Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

No Upcoming match yet!

No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News