Mushfiqur Rahim Joins new franchise ahead of BPL 2024

Mushfiqur Rahim Joins New Franchise for BPL 2024.
Mushfiqur Rahim Joins New Franchise for BPL 2024. Image from Instagram

Wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim has been selected by Fortune Barishal in the players’ auction for the upcoming edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), which is scheduled to take place in January 2024.

Previously, it was reported that Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal had changed their respective franchises ahead of the players’ auction. While Shakib joined Rangpur Riders, Tamim joined Fortune Barishal for the forthcoming season. However, Mushfiqur Rahim’s situation was different as his previous franchise, Sylhet Sixers, did not retain him, and no other franchises showed interest in picking him directly. Both Rangpur Riders and Fortune Barishal utilized the option to acquire Shakib and Tamim, respectively.

Mushfiqur Rahim was the only local player belonging to Category A with a price cap of TK 80 Lakh. His friend Tamim Iqbal made sure that Fortune Barishal secured his services in the auction.

During the player’s draft, Rangpur Riders had the first chance to pick a player and chose their reliable opener, Rony Talukdar, who performed impressively for them in the last edition of the BPL.

Notably, former Bangladesh Test skipper Mominul Haque and batter Sabbir Rahman were overlooked by the franchises in the player’s draft. Mominul was allocated to Category C with a price cap of Tk 30 Lakh, while Sabbir Rahman was in Category E with a price cap of Tk 15 Lakh. However, no teams showed interest in signing them.

The defending champions, Comilla Victorians, are confident in their squad’s ability to defend the title. Their squad includes several leading local and foreign cricketers, and they are particularly pleased to have secured Rahkeem Cornwall in the player’s auction, as he is expected to bring balance to the squad.

It’s worth noting that several Pakistani cricketers have been picked by different franchises for the upcoming BPL edition. Franchise owners have expressed their expectations of having these players available for a significant period in the BPL, especially if the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is delayed due to elections in January

BPL 2024 Players List for Various Teams:

Comilla Victorians:

  • Retention Players: Litton Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanvir Islam (local), Mohammad Rizwan, and Sunil Narine (foreign)
  • Direct Signing Players: Tawhid Hridoy (local), Moeen Ali, Andrew Russell, Iftikhar Ahmad, Zaman Khan, Khushdil Shah, Johnson Charles, Noor Ahmad, Naseem Shah, and Rashid Khan (foreign)
  • Players from Draft: Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Jaker Ali Anik, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Rishad Hossain, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiq Hasan, Md Anamul Haque (local), Rahkeem Cornwall, and Matthew Walter Forde (foreign)

Durdanto Dhaka:

  • Retention Players: Taskin Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, and Shoriful Islam
  • Direct Signing Players: Mosaddek Hossain (local), Chaturanga De Silva, Saim Ayub, and Usman Kadir (foreign)
  • Players from Draft: Saif Hassan, Irfan Shukkur, Alauddin Babu, SM Mehrob Hasan, Mohammad Naim, Md Sabbir Hossain, Jasim Uddin (local), Lahiru Samarakoon, and Sadeera Samarawickrama (foreign)

Chattogram Challengers:

  • Retention Players: Shuvagata Hom, Ziaur Rahman, and Nihaduzzaman
  • Direct Signing Players: Shohidul Islam (local), Mohammad Haris, Nazibullah Zadran, Mohammad Hasnain, and Stephen Eskinazi (foreign)
  • Players from Draft: Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Md Al Amin Hossain, Md Shykat Ali, Imranuzzaman, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Salauddin Shakil (local), Curtis Campher, and Bilal Khan (foreign)

Khulna Tigers:

  • Retention Players: Nasum Ahmed, Nahidul Islam, and Mahmudul Hasan Joy
  • Direct Signing Players: Anamul Haque Bijoy (local), Evin Lewis, Faheem Ashraf, Dhananjaya De Silva, and Shai Hope (foreign)
  • Players from Draft: Afif Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Habibur Rahman Sohan, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Akbar Ali, Sumon Khan (local), Kasun Rajitha, and Dasun Shanaka (foreign)

Rangpur Riders:

  • Retention Players: Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud (local), Azmatullah Omarzai, and Nicholas Pooran (foreign)
  • Direct Signing Players: Shakib Al Hasan (local), Babar Azam, Ihsanullah, Matheesha Pathirana, Brandon King, and Wanindu Hasaranga (foreign)
  • Players from Draft: Rony Talukdar, Shamim Hossain, Ripon Mondol, Hasan Murad, Abu Haider Rony, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Ashikuzzaman (local), Michael Rippon, and Yasir Mohammad (foreign)

Fortune Barishal:

  • Retention Players: Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Khaled Ahmed (local), and Ibrahim Zadran (foreign)
  • Direct Signing Players: Tamim Iqbal (local), Shoaib Malik, Paul Starling, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammed Amir, Abbas Afridi, and Dunith Wellalage (foreign)
  • Players from Draft: Mushfiqur Rahim, Rakibul Hasan Jr, Mohammad Saifuddin, Soumya Sarkar, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Pritom Kumar, Taijul Islam, Prantik Nawrose Nabil (local), Yannic Cariah, and Dinesh Chandimal (foreign)

Sylhet Strikers:

  • Retention Players: Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Zakir Hasan, and Tanzim Hasan Sakib
  • Direct Signing Players: Najmul Hossain Shanto (local), Ryan Burl, George Scrimshaw, Harry Tector, Ben Cutting, and Samit Patel (foreign)
  • Players from Draft: Mohammad Mithun, Rejaur Rahman Raza, Ariful Haque, Yasir Ali, Nazmul Islam Apu, Shafiqul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Jawad Rowen, Salman Hossain (local), Richard Ngarava, and Dushan Hemantha (foreign)

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

WPR vs WAR Dream11 Prediction Match 7 CSA Provincial One-Day Challenge Division One 2023

WPR vs WAR Dream11 Prediction and Fantasy Cricket Tips for Match 7 of CSA Provincial One-Day Challenge Division One 2023

David Warner Switches to Right-Handed Batting, Dismissed by Ashwin.

David Warner bats right handed against Ashwin; still gets dismissed