in ,

Jaiswal, Bishnoi, Tyagi Named In ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup Team Of The Tournament

Jaiswal, Bishnoi, Tyagi Named In ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup Team Of The Tournament
Image Source: Yashasvi Jaiswal/Ravi Bishnoi Instagram

The star players of Indian Under 19 cricket team Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ravi Bishnoi were named in the ICC Under-19 World Cup Team of the Tournament on Monday. Apart from these two, Kartik Tyagi was the third Indian to be added to the squad.

Three Indians Featured

The prolific young star and one of the most prominent upcoming stars of Indian cricket Yashasvi Jaiswal ended as the highest run-scorer of the Under-19 World Cup. He smashed 400 runs at an outstanding average of 133 and remained the only batsman to have crossed the 300-run mark in the tournament. His closest competitor is Sri Lanka’s Ravindu Rasantha scoring 286 runs at an average of 71.50. Jaiswal also claimed the Player of the Tournament award after he played a crucial role in final against Bangladesh.

Ravi Bishnoi, on the other hand, topped the wicket-takers’ chart by taking 17 wickets in six games at an average of 10.64. Bishnoi scalped four wickets in the final as well. Kartik Tyagi although did not get any wicket in the final match but kept his good show on throughout the tournament with 11 scalps to his name at an average of 13.90.

Bangladesh Win The Maiden Title

India and Bangladesh played the final match of this edition’s Under-19 World Cup in South Africa. The four-times champions India, however, could not defend their title as Bangladesh claimed their maiden ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup title with a three-wicket victory (Duckworth/Lewis method) in the rain-affected final. Moreover, this was the first time that Bangladesh were able to win the Cricket World Cup at any level.

ICC on Monday declared the team of the tournament which featured three players from Bangladesh, two from Afghanistan, one from Sri Lanka, two from West Indies apart from three Indian players. Akhil Kumar from Canada was named the 12th man.

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup team of the tournament (in batting order):

Yashasvi Jaiswal (IND), Ibrahim Zadran (AFG), Ravindu Rasantha (SL), Mahmudul Hasan Joy (BAN), Shahadat Hossain (BAN), Nyeem Young (WI), Akbar Ali (BAN) (C & WK), Shafiqullah Ghafari (AFG), Ravi Bishnoi (IND), Kartik Tyagi (IND), Jayden Seales (WI). 12th man: Akil Kumar (Canada)

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitterand Instagram

What do you think?

Written by Shreyasi Talukdar


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Australia Cricket Awards: David Warner & Ellyse Perry Get The Best Of The Lost

Womens T20I Tri-Series in Australia 2020 Final Match AUSW vs INDW Dream 11 Team

Womens T20I Tri-Series in Australia 2020 Final AUSW vs INDW Dream 11 Team Today