Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL 2020 MI vs KXIP: Here’s the Reason Why Jaspirt Bumrah Didn’t Bowl the Second Super Over

IPL 2020 MI vs KXIP: Here's the Reason Why Jaspirt Bumrah Didn't Bowl the Second Super Over

Mumbai Indians acknowledge the presence of world-class pacer Japrit Bumrah in their squad. But still Bumrah was not asked to bowl second Super Over against Kings XI Punjab. Why?

Bumrah’s impact on MI

Jasprit Bumrah is India’s prime pacer and one of the best contemporary bowlers in the cricket world. Bumrah’s impact has been huge in Indian national cricket team. He is considered to be one of the biggest weapons of Virat Kohli. Indian Premier League has a lot to do when it comes to Bumrah’s rise. Mumbai Indians especially the MI veteran Lasith Malinga played a key role to shape Jasprit Bumrah as a world-class bowler. In this edition of Indian Premier League, Jasprit Bumrah took a few matches initially to showcase his mettle but once he was back in action there was no looking back. In last few Mumbai Indians games, Bumrah showed why class is permanent.

Even Kieron Pollard spoke about Bumrah’s impact in MI squad after yesterday’s match against KXIP. “He’s (Bumrah) a world-class cricketer. He has learned and has gone leaps and bounds for us at Mumbai Indians in a run of while and so. A couple of years ago, we had a fit and fair Lasith Malinga and he (Bumrah) has taken over that mantle now and so.”

Why no Bumrah in second Super Over?

In the 36th IPL match of the season, Jasprit Bumrah while defending 177 runs posted by Kings XI Punjab went on to pick up three wickets for just 24 runs in his four overs. Even in the first Super Over he restricted Kings XI Punjab for 5/2. Mumbai Indians needed to score just six runs to win the match after a Bumrah magic in the first Super Over. However, their star openers failed to do so and the match was dragged into the second Super Over. But this time the task of bowling Super over was given to Trent Boult.

A lot was surprised to see Boult delivering the second Super Over instead of Bumrah. But Mumbai Indians had no option. The rules suggest, according to playing conditions any bowler who has already bowled a Super Over in a match is “ineligible” to bowl subsequent Super Over. The rules are same for the batsmen as well.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitterand Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1st Test 22:00 PM 02 December 2020
WI 0-0(0)
NZ 2-243(78.0)

Seddon Park


1st T20I 08:10 AM 04 December 2020
IND 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Manuka Oval


1st ODI 11:00 AM 04 December 2020

Six Gun Grill Newlands


23:30 PM 05 December 2020

Drummoyne Oval


2nd ODI 08:00 AM 06 December 2020

Boland Park


2nd T20I 08:10 AM 06 December 2020
IND 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Sydney Cricket Ground


No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News