Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL 2020: David Warner To Lead Sunrisers Hyderabad In IPL 2020

IPL 2020: David Warner To Lead Sunrisers Hyderabad In Ipl 2020
Image Source: David Warner/ Instagram

David Warner will lead the Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2020 as confirmed by the franchise on Thursday. Warner replaced Kane Williamson who led the side in last two editions.

Warner Replaces Williamson

Kane Williamson had been given the responsibility to lead the Hyderabad Indian Premier League team in 2018 after Warner was suspended following the ball-tampering controversy. In that period Warner along with Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft was handed a one-year ban for their ‘Sandpaper Gate’ against South Africa at Cape Town.

Williamson had done a pretty good job and led the team to the final of 2018 IPl where they lost to Chennai Super Kings. He was also the tournament’s leading scorer with a tally of 735. Last year, the Sunrisers left from the eliminator after losing to the Delhi Capitals.

Warner, on the other hand, had earlier captained the side between 2015 and 2017, had helped the team win title in 2016. His win-loss ratio also speaks for his captaincy ability. It looks like Hyderabad team is aiming for another good edition and so decided to bring back the old skipper.

Warner On Being Captain

The franchise took to the official Twitter handle to announce the news. The post read, “#OrangeArmy, our captain for #IPL2020 is @davidwarner31”. A video of Warner was also posted with the same where the captain was seen happily sharing his feelings. He also thanked Kane Williamson and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for leading the side last year and finally promised to put his best efforts as captain yet again.

In the video, the current captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad said, “I am thrilled to be given the captaincy for this coming IPL, I am grateful for this opportunity, I would like to thank Kane Williamson and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for leading the side last year. I would try my best to help the side lift the trophy this year.”

IPL Cricketers & Their Game Of Thrones Equivalents

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitterand Instagram.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

1st Test 04:00 AM 11 June 2020

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium


2nd Test 04:00 AM 19 June 2020

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium


1st T20I 17:30 PM 03 July 2020

Emirates Riverside


2nd T20I 16:00 PM 05 July 2020

Emirates Old Trafford


3rd T20I 17:30 PM 07 July 2020

Emerald Headingley


No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News