Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL 2019 Match 7 RCB vs MI Match Summary, Full Scorecard

IPL 2019 Match 7 RCB vs MI Highlights, Match Summary, Scorecard
Mumbai Indians

The M Chinnaswamy Stadium hosted the 7th game of the season as Royal Challengers Bangalore took on Mumbai Indians. It proved to be an absolute humdinger but MI had luck by their side as they managed to win the match, only just though.

RCB vs MI Match 7 Summary

On a batting-friendly surface, Mumbai Indians were put into bat after Virat Kohli won the toss. Quinton de Kock and Rohit Sharma provided their team a flying start. While Rohit was the aggressor initially, de Kock too joined in soon. In the first 6 overs, the duo added 52 runs. The start laid the perfect foundation for a big score.

Yuzvendra Chahal came into the attack after the completion of the powerplay and immediately removed de Kock for 23. After a silent couple of overs, the run-rate was up again. But MI suffered a major blow when the set Rohit got out for 48 in the 11th over off the bowling of Umesh Yadav. But Suryakumar Yadav upped the ante after a few deliveries that brought the side back on track.

Late flourish helped MI to a big score

Yuvraj Singh then rolled back the clock and struck 3 consecutive sixes to Chahal. It felt as if he was going to recreate history by slamming six sixes in an over. But in the bid to go for the 4th in the over, he held out at long-off. Suryakumar looked set for a big finish but Chahal accounted for his wicket as well in the 16th over.

The leg-spinner caught the big fish Kieron Pollard and dented MI’s progress. Krunal Pandya and Mitchell McClenaghan too fell soon as the visitors were in danger of falling short. After 18 overs, the score read 157/7. Hardik Pandya then exploded and collected 30 from the last 2 overs. His cameo of 32 from 14 balls propelled the team to 187/8.

RCB went in with a different batting combination this time. Parthiv Patel was accompanied by Moeen Ali. After a quiet couple of overs, the openers cut loose.  As Moeen looked threatening, Rohit ran him out for 13 in the 4th over. The skipper Kohli came out all guns blazing. He struck 3 fours in a row to Jasprit Bumrah to announce his arrival.

Parthiv too chipped in with useful runs as RCB reached 60/1 after 6 overs. Mayank Markande came into the attack in the 7th over and sent back Parthiv for 31. Kohli then had AB de Villiers for a company. MI bowlers applied pressure as the score read 82/2 after 10 overs.

De Villiers didn’t look at his fluent best initially yet he managed to hit a few big ones. Kohli was put under pressure as the required run-rate climbed. Bumrah got his revenge on the RCB skipper as the pacer got him out for 46 from 32 balls in the 14th over.

Bumrah’s brilliance overshadowed de Villiers’s fight

From that point onwards, de Villiers took matters into his own hands. RCB needed 72 from the last 6 overs. They collected 11 and 20 from the 15th and 16th overs respectively. Bumrah bowled the 17th over and conceded just one run. What made it even better was the wicket of Shimron Hetmeyer.

Hardik conceded 18 from the next over as ABD kept his side in the game. But Bumrah came back to bowl the penultimate over that went for just 5 and also included the wicket of Colin de Grandhomme. With 17 to defend from 6 balls, Lasith Malinga had the duty with the ball.

Shivam Dube smashed the first ball for a six. But Malinga kept his nerves and the next four balls went for just singles. 7 runs were required from the last ball as another yorker from the bowler kept it down to 1. MI players erupted with joy as they won by 6 runs. But after the match ended, the big screen showed that Malinga had overstepped and it should have been a no-ball. But it made no difference as the match had already been called in favor of the visitors.

IPL 2019 Match 7 RCB vs MI Summary and Full Scorecard

  Mumbai Indians – 187/8 (20 Overs)

Rohit Sharma – 48 (33)Yuzvendra Chahal – 4/38
Suryakumar Yadav – 38 (24)Umesh Yadav – 2/26


Royal Challengers Bangalore – 181/5 (20 Overs)

AB de Villiers – 70 (41) Jasprit Bumrah – 3/20
Virat Kohli – 46 (32)Mayank Markande – 1/23

Mumbai Indians Innings Full Scorecard

Mumbai Indians- 187/8 (20 Overs)

Quinton de Kock (wk) (b Chahal)232021115
Rohit Sharma (c) (c Siraj b Umesh)483381145.45
Suryakumar Yadav (c Moeen b Chahal)382441158.33
Yuvraj Singh (c Siraj b Chahal)231203191.67
Kieron Pollard (c Hetmyer b Chahal)560083.33
Krunal Pandya (c Navdeep Saini b Umesh)120050
Hardik Pandya (not out)321423228.57
Mitchell McClenaghan (b Siraj)140025
Mayank Markande (c Parthiv Patel b Siraj)6510120
Jasprit Bumrah (not out)01000

Did not bat:- Lasith Malinga

Umesh Yadav40262106.5
Navdeep Saini404000110
Mohammed Siraj40382109.5
Yuzvendra Chahal40384109.5
Colin de Grandhomme30270109
Moeen Ali101300013

Royal Challengers Bangalore Innings Full Scorecard

Royal Challengers Bangalore- 181-5 (20 Overs)

Parthiv Patel (wk) (b Markande)312241140.91
Moeen Ali (run out (Rohit))13711185.71
Virat Kohli (c) (c Hardik Pandya b Bumrah)463260143.75
AB de Villiers (not out)704146170.73
Shimron Hetmyer (c Hardik Pandya b Bumrah)560083.33
Colin de Grandhomme (c Krunal Pandya b Bumrah)270028.57
Shivam Dube (not out)9501180

Did not bat:- Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Mitchell McClenaghan202400012
Lasith Malinga404702011.8
Jasprit Bumrah40203105
Hardik Pandya303700012.3
Krunal Pandya40280007
Mayank Markande30231007.67

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Test Only Test 10:00 AM 18 July 2019
AUS 8d-420(154.4)
ENG 6-199(83.0)

The County Ground, Taunton


Tour 10:00 AM 23 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

The Rose Bowl, Southampton


Test Only Test 10:00 AM 24 July 2019
IRE 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

Lord's, London


T20 Intl 1st T20I 18:15 PM 26 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

County Ground, Chelmsford


T20 Intl 2nd T20I 13:00 PM 28 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

The County Ground, Hove


T20 Intl 3rd T20I 17:30 PM 31 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

Bristol County Ground, Bristol


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News