Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL 2019 Match 2 KKR vs SRH Highlights, Match Summary, Full Scorecard

Shubman Gill

Kolkata Knight Riders got their IPL 2019 campaign up and running at the Eden Gardens as they hosted Sunrisers Hyderabad. It proved to be the game that gave the tournament a much-needed boost after a sluggish opener. Andre Russell’s power striking overpowered David Warner’s comeback fifty as the hosts got off to a winning start.

IPL 2019 Match 2 KKR vs SRH Highlights

Going by the history of the venue, Dinesh Karthik opted to field after calling the right side of the coin drop. Bhuveneshwar Kumar led SRH in the absence of Kane Williamson who is still recovering from an injury. However, the visitors were boosted by the return of David Warner in the line-up. The Australian had a new opening partner Jonny Bairstow who made his IPL debut.

Warner’s majestic return

It didn’t take long for Warner to get going as he took full advantage of the powerplay. At the other end, Bairstow played the perfect foil for him as the duo added 54 runs in the powerplay. Warner announced his return by smashing some eye-catching boundaries. He brought up his fifty in the 9th over. After 12 overs, the score reached 112 without loss.

KKR finally found a breakthrough when Piyush Chawla castled Bairstow for 39 in the 13th over. Warner kept going and he was eyeing the three-figure mark. But unfortunately, his stay ended courtesy a brilliant catch by Robin Uthappa off the bowling of Andre Russell. The opener departed after scoring 85 from 53 balls that included 9 fours and 3 sixes.

The score 144/2 after 16 overs. Russell bagged another when he dismissed Yusuf Pathan for 1. Vijay Shankar then played a cameo of 40 from 24 balls that propelled SRH to 181/3 at the halfway stage.

Rana, Russell power KKR home

In the second innings, Bhuvneshwar began well by conceding just 1 run from the first over. Then he introduced Shakib Al Hasan against Chris Lynn. The opener struck him for a six but 3 balls later, got out for 7 runs. Nitish Rana and Uthappa then took control of the chase and took the score to 47/1 after 6 overs.

They kept the side in the hunt until Uthappa was dismissed by Siddharth Kaul in the 12th over for 35 as the stand of 80 runs ended. Sandeep Sharma then removed Dinesh Karthik for 2 in the next over. Rana was still out there and reached his half-century off 35 balls. He was shaping up for a big finish but Rashid Khan trapped him in front for 68 in the 16th over.

KKR needed 59 from the last overs that escalated later to 53 from 18 balls. Then, the beast Andre Russell came into his own and slammed 2 sixes and a four in Kaul’s 18th over that went for 19. He made it even better by collecting 21 runs from the penultimate over of Bhuvneshwar that included 2 sixes and as many fours. The hosts needed 13 from the last over. Shubman Gill then rose to the occasion when 11 runs were required from 5 balls. He smacked Shakib for a couple of sixes and sealed the game for his side.

IPL 2019 Match 2 KKR vs SRH Summary and Full Scorecard

KKR vs SRH Match 2 Summary

Sunrisers Hyderabad – 181-3 (20 overs)
David Warner – 85 (53)Andre Russell – 2/32
Vijay Shankar – 39 (35)Piyush Chawla – 1/23


Kolkata Knight Riders –  183-4 (19.4 Overs)
Nitish Rana – 68 (47)Siddarth Kaul – 1/35
Andre Russell – 49* (19)Rashid Khan – 1/26


Sunrisers Hyderabad Innings Full Scorecard

Sunrisers Hyderabad- 181-3 (20 overs)
David Warner (c Uthappa b A Russell)855393160.4
Jonny Bairstow (b Chawla)393531111.4
Vijay Shankar (not out)402422166.7
Yusuf Pathan (b A Russell)140025
Manish Pandey (not out)8510160

Did not bat:- Deepak Hooda, Shakib Al Hasan, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul

Prasidh Krishna40310217.75
Piyush Chawla30231007.67
Lockie Ferguson40340008.5
Sunil Narine30290009.67
Kuldeep Yadav20180009
Andre Russell303220010.67
Nitish Rana1090009

Kolkata Knight Riders Innings Full Scorecard

Kolkata Knight Riders – 183-4 (19.4 overs)
Chris Lynn (c Rashid Khan b Shakib)7110163.64
Nitish Rana (lbw b Rashid Khan)684783144.7
Robin Uthappa (b S Kaul)352731129.6
Dinesh Karthik (c Bhuvneshwar b Sandeep Sharma)240050
Andre Russell (not out)491944257.9
Shubman Gill (not out)181002180

Did not Bat:- Sunil Narine, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (c)40370009.25
Shakib Al Hasan3.404211011.45
Sandeep Sharma404212010.5
Siddarth Kaul40351008.75
Rashid Khan40261006.5


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

T20 Intl 2nd T20I 13:30 PM 18 September 2019
SA 0-0(0)
IND 0-0(0)

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali


T20 Intl 3rd T20I 23:00 PM 18 September 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
WI 0-0(0)

Kensington Oval, Bridgetown


One-Day 00:00 AM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day Match 1 06:00 AM 21 September 2019
VIC 0-0(0)
WA 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


One-Day Match 2 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
NSW 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Allan Border Field, Brisbane


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News