India to Play Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Australia at Home in Next Edition of WTC

India to Play Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Australia at Home in Next Edition of WTC
Image Source: BCCI Official Twitter (@BCCI)

As per the latest ICC announcement, India will play a total of six bilateral series in the next cycle of World Test Championship. The fixtures have been confirmed by the International Cricket Council on Tuesday.

WTC Edition 2 Details

According to latest fixtures of World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle Indian national cricket team will begin their 2nd cycle of the World Test Championship in the upcoming 5-Test series against England from August 4. Virat Kohli and his men will be part of six bilateral series this time. They will be home series against Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and Australia while for away tours, India will face Bangladesh, England and South Africa. They will not be playing against West Indies and Pakistan.

All nine teams are scheduled to play six series each, three home and three away with the cut-off date being 31 March 2023. This time the ICC decided to keep points system simpler for the 2021-23 edition.

The upcoming World Test Championship will see each match having 12 points for a win, 4 for a draw, and 6 for a tie. The last cycle saw the same number of points allocated to each series, divided across the number of matches played. New Zealand beat India in Southampton to win the inaugural WTC.

ICC Explains

ICC Chief Executive, Geoff Allardyce explained the point system and said: ““We received feedback that the previous points system needed to be simplified.” He added, “The Cricket Committee took this into consideration when proposing a new, standardized points system for each match. It maintained the principle of ensuring that all matches in a WTC series count towards a team’s standing, while accommodating series varying in length between two Tests and five Tests.”

He continued, “During the pandemic we had to change to ranking teams on the points table using the percentage of available points won by each team, since all series could not be completed. This helped us determine the finalists and we were able to complete the championship within the scheduled time frame. This method also allowed us to compare the relative performance of teams at any time, regardless of how many matches they had played.”

Bad News for Sri Lanka Ahead of Clash Against India

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

What do you think?

Written by Shreyasi Talukdar


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


EN-W vs IN-W Live Cricket Score

India Women Tour of England, 2021 Live Score: EN-W vs IN-W 3rd T20I Live Cricket Score Ball by Ball Commentary, Scorecard & Results

Indian Cricket Team to “Regroup with New Energy” for Second WTC.

Indian Cricket Team to “Regroup with New Energy” for Second WTC