ICC Women’s World T20 2018 Final: Australia beat England to take the crown for the 4th time

It was down to the last 2 teams. Australia and England featured in the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 Final. Both the teams had been tremendous in the tournament thus far. But when it mattered the most, the Women in Gold were outstanding. Australia defeated the arch-rivals England to be crowned the champions for the 4th time.

Initially, England won the toss and opted to bat at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua. Danielle Wyatt began with a flourish. But at the other end, Tammy Beaumont lost her wicket for just 4. Amy Ellen Jones and Natalie Sciver also departed soon that left England tottering at 41/3.

Wyatt’s fighting knock of 43 came to an end in the 11th over. The Heather Knight also battled with a knock of 25 runs. But the other batters failed to come good. After 19.4 overs, England bundled out for just 105. Ashleigh Gardner was the pick of the bowlers with 3 wickets.

Australia’s chase began with Alyssa Healy being on the offensive. She struck 4 fours early in the innings that took the score to 27 after 4 overs. But Australia lost 2 quick wickets in the form of Healy and Beth Mooney. They were in a slight spot of bother at 44/2 in the 8th over.

From that point onward, Gardner and Meg Lanning took matters into their own hands. The duo didn’t give even a sniff to the opposition. The English women were literally blown away as they witnessed the trophy slipping away. In 15.1 overs, Australia achieved the target as they won in the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 Final quite comprehensively.

ICC Women’s World T20 2018 Final Match Summary

England won the toss and opted to bat first

England: 105/10 in 19.4 overs

Danielle Wyatt 43 (37), Heather Knight 25 (28)

Ashleigh Gardner 22/3 (4), Georgia Wareham 11/2 (3)

Australia: 106/2 in 15.1 overs

Ashleigh Gardner 33* (26), Meg Lanning 28* (30)

Sophie Ecclestone 12/1 (4), Danielle Hazell 19/1 (3)

Australia won by 8 wickets

Player of the Match: Ashleigh Gardner


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Cricadium Staff

Recent Posts

Roy to go through concussion test, Pope on standby

England opener Jason Roy is doubtful for the Headingley Test starting on Thursday after a blow to his head during…

1 hour ago

England need to be very careful with Archer.- Michael Holding

Michael Holding, the former West Indian fast bowler believes England’s overuse of Jofra Archer is equivalent to “abuse”. According to…

1 hour ago

Warner ready to take extra responsibility in absence of Smith

Although Steve Smith is unavailable in the third Test of Ashes 2019, David Warner is ready to fill the “unfillable…

2 hours ago

Dhoni should have batted when India needed to build the innings.- Sehwag

Former India opener Virender Sehwag opined that India’s situation in World Cup could have been a whole lot different had…

22 hours ago

Virat Kohli eyes on Ricky Ponting’s record

While the Indian cricket team is ready to embark on the World Test Championship journey, the skipper is also set…

23 hours ago

Team India gets a new title sponsor

On Wednesday One 97 Communications Pvt. Ltd, owners of Paytm, has acquired the sponsorship rights for BCCI’s International and domestic…

24 hours ago