Connect with us

Cricket News

Highest and Lowest totals in IPL history


T20 cricket was revolutionized by the invent of Indian Premier League in 2008. Since it’s inception, the teams in the league every now and then reach new levels. What used to be a safe score in ODI cricket a decade ago, is now a chasable one in the shortest format of the game.

Royal Challengers Bangalore has been one franchise that has possessed massive strength in the batting department. They hold the record for top 2 highest totals in IPL history. Both of those came at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.

The top score of 263/5 came against the now-defunct Pune Warriors India in 2013. That innings also had the highest ever individual score by a batsman in the league. Chris Gayle had scored 175* from just 66 balls as the ball flew to all parts of the stadium. PWI could make just 133.

The second-highest total for RCB came against Gujarat Lions in 2016. They scored 248/3 against the Brendon McCullum-led side. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers both had scored centuries in that game. It was also the only incident that two batsmen reached 3 figures in the same innings. Kohli scored 109 from 55 balls while de Villiers made 129 from 52 balls. In reply, GL got out for just 104 in 18.4 overs.

Highest totals in IPL
263/5Royal Challengers BangalorePune Warriors India2013
248/3Royal Challengers BangaloreGujarat Lions2016
246/5Chennai Super KingsRajasthan Royals2010
245/6Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI Punjab2018
240/5Chennai Super KingsKings XI Punjab2008
235/1Royal Challengers BangaloreMumbai Indians2015

-Stats as of IPL 2019

While RCB holds the record for the highest total, they also have the infamous lowest total to their name. In the 2017 season, the Virat Kohli-led side got out for just 49. They were chasing Kolkata Knight Riders’ 131 at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata. None of the RCB batsmen could make a double-digit score that night.

Lowest totals in IPL
49Royal Challengers BangaloreKolkata Knight Riders2017
58Rajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers Bangalore2009
66Delhi CapitalsMumbai Indians2017
67Delhi CapitalsKings XI Punjab2017
67Kolkata Knight RidersMumbai Indians2008

-Stats as of IPL 2019

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

One-Day 00:00 AM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day Match 1 06:00 AM 21 September 2019
VIC 0-0(0)
WA 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


One-Day Match 2 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
NSW 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Allan Border Field, Brisbane


One-Day 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
TAS 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day 00:30 AM 22 September 2019
ACT 0-0(0)
VIC 0-0(0)

Park 25, Adelaide


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News