Connect with us

Cricket News

Five-nation pre-T20 World Cup Qualifier warm-up tournament to be played in Oman

Five-nation pre-T20 World Cup Qualifier warm-up tournament to be played in Oman

A five-nation T20I series will be played in Oman in the immediate lead-up to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Ireland, Oman, Nepal, Netherlands, and Hong Kong will contest in the same from October 5 to October 10.

Details of the series

Each side will play four T20Is and then they will proceed to the United Arab Emirates for the Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, which begins on 11 October. From the Qualifier Six teams will be qualified for the main tournament. The World Cup T20 is scheduled for next year in Australia from October 18-November 15. Cricket Ireland broke the news of Ireland participating in the tournament and informed that the squad would be announced later in next month.

The head coach of Cricket Ireland, Graham Ford said, “I’m very pleased to see this pre-Qualifier warm-up series announced – it’s not only important for our squad to play competitive T20 cricket before the World Cup Qualifier, but to do so in similar conditions to the UAE will be a crucial part of our preparations.” He added that the players have the potential to do well and so the intention will to focus on the task at hand and give the best shot at World Cup qualification.

The schedule suggests that Ireland will face Hong Kong in their opening encounter of the five-nation series on October 7. Two games will be played per day at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat, Oman.

The Schedule (Local timing)

  • Saturday 5 October 2019, 9.30am: Oman v Hong Kong
  • Saturday 5 October 2019, 2.30pm: Ireland v Netherlands
  • Sunday 6 October 2019, 9.30am: Oman v Ireland
  • Sunday 6 October 2019, 2.30pm: Nepal v Hong Kong
  • Monday 7 October 2019, 9.30am: Netherlands v Nepal
  • Monday 7 October 2019, 2.30pm: Hong Kong v Ireland
  • Wednesday 9 October 2019, 9.30am: Ireland v Nepal
  • Wednesday 9 October 2019, 2.30pm: Oman v the Netherlands
  • Thursday 10 October 2019. 9.30am: Netherlands v Hong Kong
  • Thursday 10 October 2019. 2.30pm: Oman v Nepal

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitterand Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Test 2nd Test 10:00 AM 14 August 2019
AUS 250(94.3)
ENG 258(77.1)

Lord's, London


Test 1st Test 04:15 AM 14 August 2019
NZ 249 & 285(83.2 & 106.0)
SL 267 & 0-133(93.2 & 50.0)

Galle International Stadium, Galle


Test 2nd Test 04:30 AM 22 August 2019
NZ 0-0(0)
SL 0-0(0)

P Sara Oval, Colombo


Test 3rd Test 10:00 AM 22 August 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

Headingley, Leeds


Test 1st Test 13:30 PM 22 August 2019
IND 0-0(0)
WI 0-0(0)

Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, Antigua


Tour 10:00 AM 29 August 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
DER 0-0(0)

County Ground, Derby


Test 2nd Test 14:30 PM 30 August 2019
IND 0-0(0)
WI 0-0(0)

Sabina Park, Jamaica


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News