IPL Flashback: Fair Play Award Winners Of All Seasons Of IPL

IPL Flashback: Fair Play Award winners of all seasons of IPL
Fair Play Award winners of all seasons of IPL

Cricket is a hard game that is played with intensity yet it’s also known as the Gentlemen’s game. It’s nice to be competitive yet respect for the game and the opposition is paramount. The Indian Premier League has a way of appreciating teams who play in the right spirit of the game. Let’s Rewind the List of Fair Play Award winners of all seasons of IPL.

When IPL came to life in 2008, the Fair Play award was introduced which awarded the team that had the best on-field conduct. In every game, the teams are judged on the basis of their on-field behaviour.

A team can earn up to 10 points per game. The on-field umpires, as well as the third umpire, are the judges for the points to be awarded. 4 points are given on the basis of how the team has adhered to the “spirit of the game”. There are 3 more criteria that carry 2 points each, based on the respect for the opposition, the laws of cricket and the umpires.

Chennai Super Kings has been the most disciplined team right through. The MS Dhoni-led side has won the Fair Play award 6 times in their 10 appearances as CSK was suspended for the editions of 2016 and 2017. Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad (2), Gujarat Lions and Mumbai Indians are the other winners of the award in the 12 years of the league.


Fair Play Award winners of all seasons of IPL
Edition Team
IPL 2008 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2009 Kings XI Punjab
IPL 2010 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2011 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2012 Rajasthan Royals
IPL 2013 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2014 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2015 Chennai Super Kings
IPL 2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
IPL 2017 Gujarat Lions
IPL 2018 Mumbai Indians
IPL 2019 Sunrisers Hyderabad
IPL 2020 Mumbai Indians

-Stats as of IPL 2020

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

IPL Flashback: Best Bowling in an Innings in IPL history

IPL Flashback: Best Bowling In An Innings In IPL History

IPL 2019: Know Everything About Rajasthan Royals Team 2019

IPL 2019: Everything You Need to Know About Rajasthan Royals Team