Bangladesh appoint a new captain during the third ODI against New Zealand

Bangladesh Appoint New Captain for Third ODI vs. New Zealand
Bangladesh Appoint New Captain for Third ODI vs. New Zealand. Najmul Hossain Shanto

Najmul Hossain Shanto has been named the captain of the Bangladesh cricket team for the upcoming third One Day International (ODI) against New Zealand. This decision was announced by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), and the match is scheduled to take place at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on September 26.

Currently, New Zealand leads the ODI series against Bangladesh with a 1-0 margin. They secured an 86-run victory in the second ODI, while the first match was abandoned due to rain.

In preparation for the third ODI, Bangladesh has made several changes to their squad. Najmul Hossain Shanto, along with Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, and Shoriful Islam, will return to the team after being given a break in the first two games.

This third ODI is significant for Bangladesh as it marks the conclusion of their experimentation with the team ahead of the ICC World Cup. It appears likely that Mahmudullah will secure a spot in the 15-member World Cup squad after his impressive performance in the second game against New Zealand, where he contributed with a vital 49 runs.

Bangladesh’s team management had been trying out various cricketers in place of Mahmudullah since his break from ODIs following the home series against England. However, Mahmudullah’s recent performance has reaffirmed his place in the squad.

Tamim Iqbal said

Tamim Iqbal praised Mahmudullah’s performance, stating, “He (Mahmudullah) was brilliant and had a small partnership with him, and his intent was good. He never looked like he was coming after a gap of six to seven months. He looked good, and the fielding was good, and whenever the ball went to him, he tried to give his best, and personally, I feel that he did really well.”

The squad for the third ODI against New Zealand includes:

  • Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain)
  • Tanzid Hasan Tamim
  • Zakir Hasan
  • Anamul Haque Bijoy
  • Tawhid Hridoy
  • Mahmudullah Riyad
  • Mushfiqur Rahim
  • Mehidy Hassan Miraz
  • Shak Mahedi Hasan
  • Nasum Ahmed
  • Taskin Ahmed
  • Shoriful Islam
  • Hasan Mahmud
  • Rishad Hossain

This match will be closely watched by cricket enthusiasts as Bangladesh aims to level the series and build momentum heading into the ICC World Cup.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

VIC vs TAS Dream11 Prediction Match 2 The Marsh Cup 2023

VIC vs TAS Dream11 Prediction and Fantasy Cricket Tips for Match 2 of The Marsh Cup 2023

David Warner's Unconventional Right-Handed Batting Stance Sparks Controversy in Indore.

Blunder Unfolds at Indore as David Warner Fails to Review His Wicket!