Connect with us

Cricket News

Australia Cricket Awards: David Warner & Ellyse Perry Get The Best Of The Lost

David Warner and Ellyse Perry get the prestigious headline prizes at the Australia Cricket Awards. Alyssa also got a few along with the new sensation Marnus Labuschagne.

Warner & Perry Steal The Show

The Allan Border Medal and Belinda Clark Medal went to David Warner and Ellyse Perry respectively. This was the third time that both got the prize. These two awards are for the best men’s and women’s side players who are elected by the votes of players, umpires, and media from across the cricket world. Both had won it the first time in 2016 with Warner getting the second one 2017 and Perry in 2018.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Best XI For Sunrisers Hyderabad

Warner had a superb ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, scoring 647 runs across the tournament, just behind the leading run-scorer Rohit Sharma’s 648. On the other hand, Perry had a bumper year too. Thanks to her contribution that Australia could dominate in the Ashes and win the multi-format series 12-4. In the only Test of the year, Perry scored a brilliant 116, and also took record figures of 7/22 in the Canterbury ODI. She eventually finished the series with 378 runs and 15 wickets, topping both charts across both teams.

Labuschagne Impresses One & All

Alyssa Healy got both Women’s ODI and T20I Player of the Year as Marnus Labuschagne got the Men’s Test Player of the Year. Healy won after scoring more than 1000 runs across the two formats in 2019, including a record 148* in a T20I against Sri Lanka in Sydney. Labuschagne was incredible since his rise in the Ashes and scored 1249 runs in 15 innings. David Warner got the Men’s T20I Player of the Year award and another star opener Aaron Finch won the Men’s ODI Player of the Year.

Cricket Australia took to Twitter to congratulate all the winners. They wrote, “A fantastic night celebrating a huge year of cricket. Congratulations again to all of our award winners! #AusCricketAwards”

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitterand Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

1st Test 04:00 AM 11 June 2020

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium


2nd Test 04:00 AM 19 June 2020

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium


1st T20I 17:30 PM 03 July 2020

Emirates Riverside


2nd T20I 16:00 PM 05 July 2020

Emirates Old Trafford


3rd T20I 17:30 PM 07 July 2020

Emerald Headingley


No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News