A Tale of Cricket Brilliance: Unveiling the Players of the Tournament Winners from 1992 to 2023

From '92 to '23: The Cricket Saga of Tournament's Best Players
From '92 to '23: The Cricket Saga of Tournament's Best Players. Image Source: ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Facebook

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is almost wrapped up. 45 group stage matches and 2 semifinal matches are done already. Two finalists have already decided. Both teams will lock horns at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. In tournament witnessed several records in its 48 years old history. In every edition, there are a whole lot of new things and some unforgettable memories. On a big stage like the World Cup, all the players want to give their best. Some players played exceptionally well. As a result of that, every edition gets a new hero named Player of the Tournament. In this article, we will discuss the Paley of the Tournament winners of the ODI World Cup over the years.

  1. Martin Crowe, 1992:

The 1992 World Cup was an iconic one. From this edition, the World Cup gets tested by playing in the one-day format. That was a big evolution. It was held in Australia and New Zealand from February to March 25. That edition was famous for the ‘rain rule’. In the first edition of the ODI World Cup, Martin Crowe was awarded the Player of the Tournament. This Kiwi player played exceptionally well in the tournament. In the inaugural match against Australia, he played a knock of unbeaten 100 runs. New Zealand won the match by 37 runs. In 9 innings of that World Cup, Crowe scored 456 runs. 

  1. Sanath Jayasuriya, 1996”

Sanath Jayasuriya was one of the greatest cricketers of Sri Lanka of all time. He is the only World Cup-winning captain of Sri Lanka. In 1996, Sri Lanka won their first World Cup under his captaincy. Jayasuriya performed exceptionally well in the match. His semifinal performance will be remembered always. In the semifinal, he picked up 3 wickets in just 12 runs. That was one of the best bowling spells of his career. He ended that edition of the World Cup with 221 runs and 7 wickets.

  1. Lance Klusener, 1999:

South Africa has an unwanted record in that they didn’t feature in any World Cup final. But in the 1999 World Cup, Player of the Tournament was awarded to a South African player. That was a great moment. In that edition of the World Cup, Lance Klusener was the star of the tournament for an unbelievable performance. In 8 innings, he scored 281 runs with a strike rate of 122.17. His highest score was 52*. He scored 2 half-centuries and picked up 17 wickets. After that clinical performance, he grabbed the Man of the Tournament trophy.

  1. Sachin Tendulkar, 2003:

The 2003 World Cup was the most heartbreaking World Cup edition for every Indian. Throughout the tournament, Team India performed exceptionally well. They lost the final and were knocked out of the tournament. The tournament was hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya. In the 2003 edition, Sachin was excellent as always. He scored a magnificent century against England in the opening match. He played an excellent 98 runs inning against Pakistan in the group stage. In the semifinal against Kenya, he remained unbeaten on 83 runs. After these excellent performances, he ended the tournament with 673 runs in 11 innings and was awarded the Player of the Tournament.

  1. Glenn McGrath, 2007:

In this edition, Australia won their fourth World Cup title. In this edition of the World Cup, the Australian team performed extremely well. Glenn McGrath shined the brightest. In that single edition of the World Cup, he picked up 26 wickets. That was just not a personal record. His effort helped the team to lift the World Cup. 

  1. Yuvraj Singh, 2011:

The 2011 World Cup was a dream come true moment for every moment. After 1983, India won the World Cup in that year under MS Dhoni’s captaincy. Yuvraj Singh was exceptional throughout that tournament. In that edition, he became the first player to score 50 runs and take 1 5 wicket haul in the same match. He ended the season with 362 runs and 15 wickets in 8 innings. His all-rounder performance was one of the keys to India’s win.

  1. Mitchell Starc, 2015:

The Aussie excellence remained the same even in the 2015 World Cup. In that edition, Australia won their fifth World Cup title. In that edition, he showcased his talent in the best way. His fiery pace was the main fuel of Australia’s win. He ended the tournament with 22 wickets with an excellent average of 10.18. As a result of that sensational performance, he was awarded the Player of the Tournament.

  1. Kane Williamson. 2019:

The 2019 World Cup final match was one of the most dramatic matches in the history of the tournament. In that edition, England won their maiden World Cup trophy by defeating New Zealand in the final match. However, Williamson was awarded the Player of the Tournament. He scored 578 runs. His outstanding leadership skills brought the Kiwis to two consecutive World Cup finals.

What About the 2023 World Cup?

The 2023 World Cup final match is just two sleeps away.  After completing the group stage and the semifinal stage, India and Australia will be locking horns at the highest level of this tournament. The match will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Virat Kohli has scored the most runs till now, in 10 innings, he scored 711 runs. India is unstoppable in the tournament. Mohammad Shami is leading the highest wicket-takers list with 23 wickets. Glenn Maxwell scored the highest score in the tournament at 201*. Fans are waiting to see the new Player of the Tournament for this edition.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

BCCI Plans Grand Recognition for World Cup Winning Captains at Ahmedabad Final

World Cup Winning Captains to Receive Special Honors at ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Final

IAF's Suryakiran Aerobatic Team Prepares Breathtaking Air Show for World Cup Finale.

Spectacular Air Show by Indian Air Force to Enliven 2023 World Cup Final; Practice Video Goes Viral